Read-Alouds: This week Jessica read  “A bad Case of the Stripes,” by David Shannon. This was the best read aloud so far. The book is so cute and I really enjoyed it. I would use this book for a freshman success class or just a freshman class in general. It’s not about what other people think, it’s all about what you want, need, and like. So if your so called friends don’t fit in what you want out of life get rid of them.

Quote Of the Week: A teacher’s purpose is not to create students in his own image, but to develop students who can create their own image.  ~Author Unknown  I love this quote so much. So many teachers are trying to create students’ into a shadow of themselves. The don’t allow the student to create their own way and own image. I wish more teachers believe in this.

Learning Experiences: This week we learned about barriers to learning. I never really realize that my fellow peers could have so many problems that no one ever notice. This week I also learned that teachers have a lot more to deal with then making lesson plans and going to meeting. They have the extra task of dealing with students’ problems that are not dealt with at home. We also took our redo test on Special Education laws and labels, and I really scared to see what I made since it was harder than the first one.

Current Event: http://www.edweek.org/ew/articles/2010/11/12/12mct_wibullying.h30.html                      This article is about how a bullying laws have loophole. This because most bullying law don’t cover cyberbullying. Bullying here in the US, has become a big problem lately and I feel we need to do more to stop it.

Observations: This week I observed the freshman class. Usually I can’t tell who the freshman are because they try to be under the radar. This year the freshman want to be noticed. Most of the freshman are trying to date seniors or juniors. The freshman boys are going out for every varsity sports they can try out for. Then there are the freshman who like me my first year of high school are just trying to hang on the friends who are not changing every five minutes to be accepted by people who could really care less about. I think freshman should get more attention at school because they want to feel accepted by others.

Reflections: Why does it take so long to find out if you got accepted to the college of your dreams? Why is my senior year the hardest year of high school? Why do we care so much about what others thinks? I wonder how many of my friends have barriers stopping them from learning?

