Quote of the week: A teacher affects eternity; he can never tell where his influence stops.  ~Henry Brooks Adams  A rare teacher will always influence his/her pupil even when they leave them. I had two teachers who words and some of their ways are still stuck to me like glue. They aided me in learning something new to use  in life and I’m thankful for that.

Read-Alouds: The first one was Oh the places we’ll go by Dr.Seuss. No matter what age you are this book can relate to your life. I would use this book to find out what my students wanted to do with their lives. I give them a project to see what it take for them to reach that goal. The Second one was The foolish tortoise by Richard Buckley. I enjoyed this read-alouds because i know what it feels like  when you are unhappy about yourself. I use this book for elementary school students, to let them know that there is nothing wrong with the way they are.  Then I would use the team esteem big book idea as class project, so each student can really know how special they are.

Learning Experiences: This week we watched a video about schools in rural South Carolina. It broke my  heart. I can’t believe parents actually send their kids to schools that are falling apart. I couldn’t believe that the school board actually let’s kids go to those schools. So this week I learned that every person you except to care about the education and welfare of your kids can’t always provide them with every thing that is needed for it.

Current Event:http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=120998319 So University of Michigan decided to change their teaching-train programs. They are now focusing on the what they the teacher have to do instead you what they need to know. I thinks this is a great idea. Teachers need to stop trying to focus what they know on students. We as students need to be engaged. This is why I love classes like teacher cadets and health science I actually get to have hands on experience in the field I’m thinking about working in.

Observations: This week I started clinical rotations at the hospital. I was placed in oncology and I was prepared for the worst. I meet a young man who was just eighteen, he just graduated from high school four months ago.  This young man was bummed out because he had a fight with his girlfriend. I was fortunate enough to have a chance to sit down and talk to him. His mood improved a lot as we talked about things like relationships, family, and our futures. So when I’m dealing with children I need to remember that sitting down and talking with them can make them happier than me just sending them off to play with other Children.

Reflections: What am I going to major in? Do I really want to be a doctor?  I’m thankful for my life because it could be worst.

