Quote Of the Week:  A good teacher is like a candle it consumes itself to light the way for others.- Auother unknown All of my good teachers gave up their time and energy to make sure that my classmates and I understood what they were teaching. So this quote is meaningful to me because it made me think of all the teacher who aided me into making it to senior year.

Read-Alouds: ?The first one was a poem called the race. I enjoyed this one, because i know a lot of people who want to win the race instead of finishing the race. The poem can be used in any grade as an icebreaker. You could have students describe their own race in life. The other read-aloud was Home by Moonlight. This one I think focused more on elementary school kids. You could use it in the classroom by having the kids writes a story, about something they did with their  mom. It is a good way of seeing how strong of a writer the kids are and getting to know them.

Learning Experiences:  One thing is true food brings people together. FAb Food Fridays are awesome. The activity who said, made me realize i learned a lot about my classmates during quilt squares. I also learned that some of my classmates are really funny.

Current Event:  This article is about a school in Washington D.C., whose mission is make sure no child is left behind. The kids live on campus and are very disciplined. All of their seniors graduated and are going to college. The school was featured on 60 Minutes on Sunday. http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2010/05/21/60minutes/main6506911.shtml

Observations: This week I noticed some of my teachers stick to the same way of teaching every class. I feel that when dealing with young people you need to mix it up, when teaching. One thing that really made ms smile is when I was leaving Wal-Mart on Thursday was this little girl in the parking lot who broke her neck to say hi. Even through it was cute it one thing i wouldn’t do to kids is ignore them when they want attention. Her mom didn’t even notice the little girl trying to get out of the cart.

Reflections: This week I’m concerned about my future. Am I ready to leave the nest? Are my parents ready? Is the future going to be everything  i thought it would be? Where is my life going?

