29th

Filed under: Uncategorized by airbrow — Leave a comment
August 29, 2010

First word: Unusual Second word: Class.  This unusual class is Teacher Cadets.

This week was the first real week of my senior year. I met a former student who just got married. She had to cutest little girl, who decided she needed to learn the terms for my health science class. The funny thing was she adored my binder kept flipping through it.  This little girl renforced why i want to be a teacher or a pediatrician. Her smile just lit up my friday. The smile of a child is the most powerful thing in this world. So when i work with kids the main thing is to kept them smiling because as long as they are happy they response better to you. 

My Quote of the week: The dream begins with a teacher who believes in you, who tugs and pushes and leads you to the next plateau, sometimes poking you with a sharp stick called “truth.” Dan Rather  This quote touched me because it’s so true. Teachers are not just in our life to teach but to help mold us into the people were are meant to be.

Read-Alouds: Through the cracks was my favorite read-alouds this week because i use to be one of those kids. The ones who sit in class be are a million miles away.  I liked First Day of School because it show how teachers have to be cleaver sometimes when dealing with students. The Losing Season by Pat Conroy  showed how teacher can bring out a student true potential by reading them right.  One by Kathryn Otoshi shows how it takes one person to stand up for what they believe and the rest follow.

Learing experiences: Pot aka Self-Esteem http://kidshealth.org/kid/feeling/emotion/self_esteem.html I learned about my classmates this week, through our quilt square. We have a lot of stuff in common. I love pot notes, i think it is pick me up and i glad we learned about them the other day.

Current Event: So South Carolina didn’t get money for education. I find this funny since the school system laid off so many teachers.So the state must may do with the educational reforms they already have going on. I think it’s sad how politicians can gamble with young people’s education to get their point across.   http://www.thestate.com/2010/08/25/1431984/sc-fails-again-in-quest-for-federal.html 

Reflection: Senior year has started off rocky. It seems like this week have been on my own personal roller coaster with too many ups and downs. As a person i grew  because i now see that I’m stronger than i give myself credit for, but at the same time i do need someone’s shoulder to lean on from time to time. I need to stop trying to be superwoman and just sit back and chill sometimes. This week I’m celebrating the fact that my boyfriend is amazing. I don’t think anyone else could put up with my crazy antics and I’m thankful for my best friend Lana who has always been there for me even through we are six hours apart from one another.

